• Baildon Carnival Canter 2015 – HPH Fell League Race 2

Baildon Carnival Canter 2015 – HPH Fell League Race 2

Thanks to Baildon Runners for putting on another great race at this years Baildon Carnival.  The Carnival Canter has attracted HPH-ers since Chris and Liz Jones gave it a go back in 2010.  This year, 19 Harriers turned out- to tackle the 5km fell race across Baildon Moor with a 152m climb, and a quick 2km decent back to the Rugby Club.

A gust of wind robbed Hyde Park of their first ever fell running first place as both Chris Mann and Dan Cross followed a sign that had blown to point directly up to the trig point…both runners finishing strongly in 1st and 3rd but 600m short of the race distance.
Edward Davies of Otley took full advantage of the error, claiming first place just infront of Anthony Aimon who claimed 3rd spot with a time of 21:13 (after a park run and a morning swim).  Rebecca Rogers was first HPH female home, finishing as 4th lady in 25:20.

Some strong running by Ken Fox who managed 2nd M55, and Matthew Gray who put in a storming sprint finish to overtake Mick Mason on the last 100m.

Special mentions also to Rici Marshall, who raced after a Gloucestershire snake attack in the week, Rich Quinn who was the most hungover runner on the day, and Dan Waas who looked resplendent with headband and beard.

HPH results below:

Pos    Name            Club        Time    Category
1    Edward Davies        Otley        20:42    M
3    Anthony Aimon        Hyde Park    21:13    M
7    Colin Tranter        Hyde Park    21:37    M
9    Scott Henderson        Hyde Park    21:58    M
10    Richard Quinn        Hyde Park    22:07    M
12    Tom Eales        Hyde Park    22:46    M
26    Rebecca Rogers        Hyde Park    25.20    F
32    Ken Fox            Hyde Park    26.12    M55
34    Daniel Waas        Hyde Park    26.24    M
37    Robin Culshaw        Hyde Park    26.47    F
38    Jonathan Mason        Hyde Park    27.02    MU23
43    Daisy Karanois        Hyde Park    27.37    F
45    Lucy Rider        Hyde Park    28.15    F
59    Rici Marshall        Hyde Park    32.32    F
62    Catherine Ley        Hyde Park    33.18    F
63    Matthew Gray        Hyde Park    33.45    M
64    Michael Mason        Hyde Park    33.53    M50

DQ    Chris Mann        Hyde Park    17:00    M
DQ    Daniel Cross        Hyde Park    17:41    M

Full results on the Baildon Runners website.

About the Author

The Author has not yet added any info about himself

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *