Fell Races 2022-’23


We advise that you double check race dates before booking, and look out for any changes to races included in the championship in our roundup emails.

Page Updated: Oct 2021
Jack Bloor 10th May ’22 Info to follow
Beamsley BeaconJuly ’22Race Website
Otley ChevinJuly ’22Info to follow
Rombalds RompSept ’22Info to follow
Yorkshireman Half Sept ’22Info to follow
Ilkley MoorSept ’22Info to follow
Burley MoorNov ’22Info to follow
Pendle HillNov ’22Info to follow
MytholmroydDec ’22Info to follow
Stanbury SplashJan ’23Info to follow

Race Calendar

Information and rules for the 2020/21 championship year:

Races are categorised as A (hardest) to C (milder) on the basis of the amount of climb, and short (S), medium (M) or long (L) based on distance. The series takes place between May 2022 and Feb 2023. There are 10 designated scoring races in total, with distances ranging from 1.5 miles to 8.8 miles.

The competition is open to all first claim members who compete in these designated races and who have paid their membership fees in full. The best 6 performances for each member will be totalled giving you your final score. All races entered from the list above count and therefore there is no minimum number of races to count. For Men and Women: 1st HPH = 10 points 2nd HPH = 9 points 3rd HPH = 8 points 4th HPH = 7 points 5th HPH = 6 points 6th HPH = 5 points 7th HPH = 4 points 8th HPH = 3 points All other HPH racers get 2 points. In the event of a tie at the end of the season, the winner will be decided on head-to-head and then if it’s still a draw, on participation. If there is still a draw after that then they share it.

The majority of the races that have been chosen are suitable for beginners to fell running, and the aim is to keep the Championship as inclusive as possible.  However, fell running can be both fun and challenging, with some inherent hazards. Senior runners at any event are responsible for their own safety. Any member intentionally failing to meet the rules of the race e.g. not taking FRA minimum kit when instructed by race organisers will be disqualified from all future HPH fell competitions. Use appropriate kit for the course and conditions: members do not need to wear their vests etc to get points because all kit worn and used must be suitable to the conditions of the course on the day. 

The FRA strongly recommend that all runners are aware of the basics of hypothermia, the symptoms, treatments, and how to avoid it.  The fell running, and Hyde Park Harriers ethos of showing consideration for other runners and their safety should be followed, even if it means losing vital Fell Championship points!

Personal Conduct: The FRA also advise that all runners taking part in races should behave respectfully to other competitors, race officials and members of the public sharing the same area of countryside.  Adhering to the Countryside Code is important for ALL Fell Races. It would be very helpful if members would register as a Hyde Park Harrier when entering. Members must be a current member for each race and at the end of the year (31st March).