• Final Off Road Weekend

Final Off Road Weekend

January 9th and 10th saw the final chance to score points in the club Off Road Championship.  After the Post Hill challenge was moved from its original date a decision was taken to add in a replacement round.  It was just at the time that the new Temple Newsam 10 mile race was announced and sounded perfect.  We then realised that it was the same weekend as the Yorkshire Cross Country Championships that we were putting a team together for.  The best answer was to offer points from both, but you could only score at one.

Saturday saw the Yorkshire’s and a great performance by the Hyde Park Harriers.  We had 8 runners in the senior men’s race and Rachel Bourne in the senior women’s race.  It was a challenging multi lap course at Light Water Valley Theme Park.


Rachel was a creditable 47th out of 138, while Matthew Pinnock was first of the Harrier men home in 87th out of 269.  The rest of the team all produced a great performance with Anthony Aimon, Tom Pollard, James Booth, Tom Eales, Tom Mason, Scott Henderson and Ken Fox all representing Hyde Park Harriers.

Yorkshire1  Yorkshire4  Yorkshire2

Sunday was the first running of the Temple Newsam 10 miler.  A good mix of a route, plenty of mud of course and an excellent turnout of 16 men and 15 ladies.  We were presented with a trophy for the best supported club.


David Driver was first Harrier home in an excellent 2nd place, with Stan Karanasios not far behind in 4th and Colin Tranter in 17th.



Rachel did the double and was first Harrier lady home in 69th, Rebecca Rogers came in 106th and Monica Padilla 129th.


TNT10  TNT11

YXC Men Ladies
Position Name Time Division Position Name Time Division
87th Matthew Pinnock 44.19 1st 47th Rachel Bourne 39.26 1st
127th Anthony Aimon 46.37 1st
178th Tom Pollard 49.45 2nd
185th James Booth 50.12 Prem
190th Tom Eales 50.45 1st
195th Tom Mason 51.16 2nd
197th Scott Henderson 51.18 Prem
241st Ken Fox 56.43 Prem
2nd David Driver 1.02.37 1st 69th Rachel Bourne 1.15.39 1st
4th Stan Karanasios 1.04.17 Prem 106th Rebecca Rogers 1.19.13 Prem
17th Colin Tranter 1.08.48 1st 129th Monica Padilla 1.21.14 Prem
37th Chris Smith 1.12.15 Prem 265th Hannah Marshall 1.29.15 2nd
40th Matt Jackson 1.12.21 Prem 282nd Clare Evans 1.30.34 2nd
42nd Charlie Jackett 1.12.31 Prem 329th Dote Stone 1.33.26 2nd
44th Tom Pollard 1.12.46 2nd 364th Jennifer Gridley 1.35.35 2nd
88th Aron Hinds 1.17.23 2nd 384th Lois Gardner 1.37.20 2nd
90th Paul Sawyer 1.17.45 2nd 425th Heather Fulton 1.39.15 2nd
100th David Womersley 1.18.58 Prem 453rd Caroline Sanders 1.40.42 2nd
218th Scott Watson 1.26.17 2nd 462nd Vicky Houghton 1.41.21 Prem
344th John Blatherwick 1.34.35 2nd 470th Sarah Farnell 1.42.03 1st
411th Bartosz Lewandowski 1.39.19 2nd 520th Nicola Forwood 1.47.58 Prem
496th Richard Edwards 1.45.02 Prem 605th Claire Hougham 1.59.04 1st
601st Daniel Waas 1.57.41 Prem 634th Sara Scholes 2.05.10 2nd
643rd Paul Jones 2.06.40 2nd DNF Tee-Jay Jones

So how did all this leave the championship……..

Men’s Premier – This went to the wire, James Booth lead going into the final weekend and took a maximum score at the Yorkshire’s, but thanks to a second place points at Temple Newsam and James having to drop scores Chris Smith takes the honours by 7 points.  Stan scored his first points of the year with a maximum score which all 20 men in the premier division scored points.  Daniel Waas was the only person to score on all 7 rounds.

Men’s 1st – David Driver scored maximum points at TNT his 3rd max score from 4 events he entered.  This was enough to finish runner up, but it was Tom Eales who takes the honours after a strong season.  12 men scored points in the 1st division.

Men’s 2nd –  Tom Pollard was the only man to do the double and was strong taking top spot at both events.  Even though he was under the weather Champion Scott Watson still turned out but didn’t need to after a strong 5 scored all ready giving him top spot.  Paul Sawyer finished the year strong and claimed runner up spot.  22 men scored.

Ladies Premier – Rebecca Rogers was already champion with a maximum score but continued her excellent year claiming another top score.  Vicky Houghton had a strong year finishing runner up with Monica Padilla 3rd.  9 ladies scored in the Premier league.

Ladies 1st – Rachel Bourne did 4 rounds taking maximum scores at all 4 to be champion.  Sarah Farnell missed the first 3 rounds but a strong second half of the year saw here finish runner up with Claire Hougham 3rd.  11 ladies scored in the 1st division.

Ladies 2nd – Lucy Rider had to miss this round but 4 wins and a 3rd was good enough to claim top spot 6 points clear of Dote Stone.  Dote had a great battle with Clare Evans who finished 1 point behind in 3rd.  22 ladies scored points.

Promotion and relegation – At the start of the year we say 3 up, 3 down.  If more don’t score than more will be promoted.  As it stands 3 men will be relegated from the premier, with 3 going up.  7 men didn’t score in the 1st division and will all be relegated, 8 will be promoted from the 2nd division as we all ready had one space.

For the ladies rather than 20 in the division we had 15.  9 scored in the premier, meaning 6 down and 6 up from the 1st.  11 scored in the 1st division meaning 4 down and 4 up from the 2nd.  We may look to make the divisions up to 20 but will discuss this at a later date.  Hope you all enjoyed your Off Road Championship Year.



About the Author

The Author has not yet added any info about himself

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *