Off Road

Off Road Races 2024/2025

Note: We advise that you double check race dates and transfer policies before booking, and look out for any changes to races included in the championship in our roundup emails.

Page Updated: May2024

Name of RaceDistanceDate of RaceLink to Enter
Apperley Bridge Canter10km30/05/2024Apperley Bridge Canter 2024- RaceBest
Solstice Saunter5 mile20/06/2024Solstice Saunter 2024 – RaceBest
Lotherton Hall Trail Race5 mile02/08/2024Lotherton Hall Trail Race 2024 – RaceBest
Ilkley Incline1 mile04/09/2024Ilkley Incline
Meanwood Valley Trail10km28/09/2024Meanwood Valley Trail Race 2024 – RaceBest
Kirkstall 77 mile22/09/2024Kirkstall Abbey 7 2024 – RaceBest
Run Bolton AbbeyHM10/11/2024Run Bolton Abbey 2024 – RaceBest
Bah Humbug 10km10km08/12/2024Bah Humbug 2024 – Racebest
Temple Newsam Ten10 mileTBC 2025Temple Newsam Ten 2024 – RaceBest
St Aidans Winter Beast10kmTBC 2025St Aidan’s Winter Beast 2024 – RaceBest
2024/2025 Races

Information and rules for the 2024/25 championship year:

The series takes place between April 2024 and March 2025, and consists of ten designated races with varying distances. The competition is open to all first claim members who compete in these designated races and who have paid their membership fees in full. There will be separate identical competitions for men and for women.

  • Each championship has 10 races of varying distances.
  • Participant’s best 5 results will count towards their total.
  • Points will be awarded from 100 (for 1st place within a league) to 1 (for 99th place and below).
  • The highest total score will win.
  • If two or more members have scored an equal number of points at the end of the season, final positions will be determined on all head-to-head race results (not just best 5). If these are equal, positions will be tied for the overall result.
  • Only participants who are members at the end of the year (31st March) will be eligible for awards. With this as with all other matters the decision of the committee will be final.
The Championship Guidelines

All races are local and where practicable a tie in with races organised by other Leeds based running clubs will be sought. When entering races please indicate that you are a Hyde Park Harriers club member.

Please wear your club colours at designated races.  If you do not wear your vest/shirt you may not get any points.

The club is affiliated to UKA therefore we are obliged to follow their rules with regard to transfer of race numbers. If a member gives their number to someone else without using the official transfer system then they may be disqualified from all club competitions in that year. Members should be aware that some race organisers (eg Abbey Dash) have no system for the transfer of race numbers.

About The Divisions and Scoring

We have two divisions- Premier and First. There will be 30 named members in the Premier division, based on our last full scoring year (2023/24) and everyone else will be in the First Division. The fastest member within each division at each designated race receives 100 points, decreasing by one point for subsequent finishers. Where 99 plus runners compete then one point will be awarded for 99th and each subsequent placing.

A full list of members in the Premier/First Divisions can be found on the Championship Tables page. Members who join the club during the year will automatically be placed in the First Division.

At the end of the competition year, the members in positions 1 to 5 in the First Division will be promoted into the Premier Division, and replace those who finished in positions 26 to 30 in the Premier Division, for the forthcoming year. If any member finishing in positions 1 to 5 in the First Division does not renew their membership, then the member finishing sixth will be promoted to the Premier Division, and so on. If members have not competed in the current year they will be automatically relegated.